CRM 2015/2016 – How to Share a Saved View

Did you know that in Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2015 and CRM 2016 you can share a saved view with your coworkers? In CRM, not only can users create custom views for quick and easy access to important records, but they can also give their fellow users access to these custom views. This comes in handy if a custom view would benefit a team in your organization. Instead of each member having to create the view individually on their own time, one user can create it, and then share it with the members of the group.

This task requires permissions found in all default security roles in CRM Online and can be performed in all deployment models of Microsoft Dynamics CRM Online and On-Premise.
Here is a step-by-step walkthrough on how to share a saved view:

1. In the ribbon, click Advanced Find (see below).
2015-12-18_15-57-33

2. Once the Advanced Find window appears, click the Saved Views button in the ribbon (see below).
2015-12-18_15-59-07

3. Select the saved view you wish to share by clicking on the area next to the view name (see below).
Note: If no views show up, you may need to select the record type first, then select the shared view.
Click the Share button in the ribbon.2015-12-18_16-01-05
4. The “Share Saved View” window will appear. On the left side of the window, click Add User/Team (see below).

2015-12-18_16-03-34

5. The “Look Up Records” window will appear (see below). This is where you identify the users you wish to share your view with. Check the box next to the corresponding user(s) or team(s), and then click Select. Once you have specified everyone you wish to share the saved view with, click Add

2015-12-18_16-06-39

You can continue to use this window to decide how much control you’d like to give each user or team over your view.

2015-12-18_16-14-20

Read: Needed for others to see your view. The user or team can read the view.
Write: The user or team can add or remove criteria to the view’s query.
Delete: The user or team can delete the view. Be careful with this one, if a user deletes your view it is deleted for everyone else too.
Append: This option is not available for selection.
Assign: The user or team can change the ownership of the view.
Share: The user or team can share the view with other CRM users or teams.

Once you click Share, the saved view is now accessible to the designated user(s).

When you share views with others, your shared view will be listed under My Views for the record type the view was built on. You may wish to name your shared views so they can be easily identified.

Once your fellow CRM users discover sharing views, the list of views under My Views can grow and grow. Perhaps you’d like to reduce the number of views to the ones you really use and hide all of the others. Perhaps there are views that were shared by a user who has been deactivated in CRM and you don’t want to see them anymore.

Regardless of the access level that was granted to you by the view sharer, you are able to Deactivate a shared view so it no longer shows up in your list.
To deactivate a shared view return to the Advanced Find window.

Note: Saved Views are grouped by the record type. Saved/shared views built on Account records are listed under the Account Record Type, views built on Contact records are listed under the Contact Record Type. You can quickly move through saved views for each entity by changing the record type using the Record Type button on the far left to the View entity.

Once you’ve loaded the Advanced Find window, click Saved Views and change the view to Active Views Shared with Me. This will retrieve all of the views that your fellow CRM users have shared with you. Select the view or views you’d like to hide, click the Deactivate button, then close the Advanced Find window.

2015-12-18_16-22-31

You will need to navigate to another record type and return to refresh the list of views, but when you do, you’ll notice that the views you deactivated are no longer available in the list of My Views.

Conversely, you are able to reactivate views that you’ve hidden by returning to the saved views list, change the view to Inactive Views Shared with Me, select the view or views you’d like to restore to My Views and click Activate.

Bonus Tip: Do you have a favorite view that you use over and over again? Once the view is selected, click the push pin next to the view name to save that as the default view the next time you access the entity.

2015-12-18_16-24-30

===================
References
This Blog Article pulled information from 2 separate articles originally written for CRM 2011.
http://blog.xrm.com/index.php/2011/09/boost-collaboration-sharing-saved-views-crm-online/

http://www.powerobjects.com/2011/10/10/creating-and-hiding-shared-views-in-microsoft-dynamics-crm-2011/

\